Photos: Chelsea win the 2016-17 Premier League title with victory at West Brom

Chelsea are the 2016-17 Premier League champions after defeating West Brom at the Hawthorns.

Antonio Conte’s side ran out 1-0 winners on Friday night as the west Londoners clinched their sixth top flight title, and the fifth of the Premier League era.

A late goal from substitute Michy Batshuayi, who had only been on the pitch for six minutes, ensured it was now mathematically impossible for the Blues to be caught by London rivals Tottenham.

Chelsea went into the fixture knowing that just three points from their remaining three matches would see the title return to Stamford Bridge.

The Blues saw off Middlesbrough 3-0 at the Bridge last Monday to put themselves within touching distance of the title, and finished off the job before their week was done.

Conte becomes the fourth Italian coach to the win Premier League, and the fourth since 2010, following Carlo Ancelotti (Chelsea 2009-10), Roberto Mancini (Manchester City 2011-12) and Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City 2015-16).